Mendes/Wischnia win election

ASASUD presidential election
By a mere four votes, journalism freshmen Tania Mendes and Beth Wischnia were named president and vice president (respectively) of the Downtown campus Monday morning. (Stephanie Snyder/DD)

The results of the ASASUD Student Government Election were announced Monday morning and declared journalism freshmen Tania Mendes and Beth Wischnia as the president and vice president (respectively) of the ASU Downtown campus, who secured their positions by a mere four votes.

Out of a total of 291 votes cast for the president/vice president category, Mendes and Wischnia received 84, public programs juniors Olga Lykhvar and running mate Latia Shaw received 80, journalism freshman Duyen Tran and running mate sophomore Christina Lundeberg received 72, and nursing students junior Rabia Abdulmajeed, the incumbent president, and running mate sophomore Natasia Bongcas received 55.

There were also five students who were elected to senator. The senators for the 2009-2010 school year include journalism junior Charlie Jannetto, public programs freshman Abby Wischnia, and write-in candidates journalism freshman Josh Frigerio and nursing freshmen Amanda Cram and Ariana Heet.

During the time that the polls were open between April 8 at 8 a.m. and April 10 at 11:59 p.m., 294 ballots were cast by Downtown campus students.

Contact the reporter at